inaccurate calorie requirement?

Options
Hello! This is my first time on this forum and I've been using myfitnesspal for about 2months now. It has helped me a lot in judging how many calories all of my foods are and to see how much energy I really need each day.

My question is that I am actually gaining weight on this even though I am eating 1200cal/day, which is the recommended amount for me (4'10, 103lbs). I was wondering if 1200cal/day is the minimum that a website can recommend according to government regulation...? And according to my height, should I actually be eating less? Is there a resource that can more accurately determine how many calories I need per day?

Thanks so much,

Replies

• PBmaria
    PBmaria Posts: 854 Member
    Options
    I feel the shorty's pain. I'm only 5'0 and 111lbs. I tried to look at your diary but it's closed. Are you tracking yout sodium? Are you exercising? If so, are you eating your calories back?

Also, I noticed you wanna lose 8 pounds? that seems like a lot but you are quite short, so idk.
  • sgibney78
    Options
    I'm starting to ask the same question. It seems every woman on here regardless of height, wieght or age is given the same minimum.
  • paperpromisesx3
    Options
    No website will ever recommend lower than 1200. I am 4'10" and 113 lbs, looking to get down to 100-105. I eat 850-1000 calories a day.
  • New_Hope
    Options
    I think that MFP has to set it to 1200 calories automatically. According to the BMR calculator here, you burn 1102 calories just to be alive, so I figure your daily activity would at least put you around 1200, if not more. Maybe you should go ask your doctor how much you should be eating and then set MFP manually.
  • mmensah
    mmensah Posts: 42 Member
    Options
    are you working out? are you eating the right foods?
  • MaryStregger
    MaryStregger Posts: 73 Member
    Options