Have you tried GLP1 medications and found it didn't work for you? We'd like to hear about your experiences, what you tried, why it didn't work and how you're doing now. Click here to tell us your story

Net calories?

Hi everyone. Im new to the app and don't quite understand net calories. I'm on 1200 day. Yesterday my calorie intake was 1177 and my net was 1066. Is that good? I've also had a really low one a week or so ago where I only consumed 957 and my net was 524. I have a read a bit about it and it says if its minus then I'm in calorie deficit but mine doesn't have a minus next to it.
When im at work i walk about 11k - 15k steps a day so i always burn alot of calories which i havent been eating back. I have lost weight so I must be doing something right. I'm now off work for 2 weeks so I'm not burning those calories. Do I still only eat 1200 a day and will I continue to loose weight?
Thanks 🙂

Best Answer

• Lietchi
    Lietchi Posts: 6,688 Member
    Answer ✓
    I really appreciate ur comments. I've not really been on a diet before, I only want to loose a bit for my dad's wedding at the end of the month and i want to maintain that weight. So I'm looking at making sure my net calories are as close to my calorie intake as possible. I do feel like my eating habits have changed since I started logging. I used to get energy out of dark chocolate but I eat alot of berries and fruit now instead. One more question, is it true that fruit and veg are seen as 0 calorie foods. Can i eat as much as I want of those ?

Oh no, it's absolute myth. Honestly, if I didn't count my fruit and vegetable intake I'd never have lost weight. For example: yesterday, adding up all my fruit and veg: 144 calories. Monday: 191 calories. On Sunday 275 calories even.