Study Munchies

Options
I have a HUGE problem with eating while studying. I think it's mostly because I try to give myself a mental break while I'm studying and food is great for that. Also, I have a bad habit of rewarding myself with food, like when I'm done this chapter I can have a snack. I know the fat is going to start creeping up on me if I keep doing this.. Anyone have this problem too? and how do I break the "reward system" I have started!? It definitely makes me get through the homework faster so it's not something easy to stop!

Replies

• squishysangel
    squishysangel Posts: 149 Member
    Options
    I have a similar issue...never did figure out how to modify it,,,now I just go without...or I'll have a nice cup or pot of herbal/fruit tea
  • thetrishwarp
    thetrishwarp Posts: 838 Member
    Options
    I have to reward myself with breaks when I study too. I try to get up and walk around the house, and then come back to it. Or snack on baby carrots or something similar, so when you finish a chapter etc, you can have 2.

I've also tried substituting food rewards for other (also not good) things like "if i write this paragraph, i get 5 minutes on facebook" haha!
  • Marig0ld
    Marig0ld Posts: 671 Member
    Options
    Oh gosh, I know the feeling!!! I try to reward myself with a HEALTHY snack, like some air popped popcorn. Or maybe a small treat as long as it's within my calorie limit. One thing that worked for me today was allowing myself a 15 minute internet surfing break for every hour that I did homework without stopping. It's pretty heavy stuff I have to read too...I'm going for a master's in Public Administration.

Best of luck, it is VERY difficult to be in school and watch your weight!
  • _Jessica_
    _Jessica_ Posts: 216 Member
    Options
    Oh me too!!! It is horrible.. I think it is a boredome thing.. cause we all know studying is not exciting! I cant wait to hear the responses!
  • ohraspberries13
    Options