New Here. Any tips?

Options
Hello!

My names Denise and I'll be 23 at the end of the month. I currently weigh 211 and just started the gym about a week ago. I've lost a pound already! (Yay me! :P ) Anyway, I'm new to the whole weight loss ordeal. I was wondering, along with the possibility of new friends and supporters, if anyone could give any tips on how to lose weight, control urges to eat certain things, or anything along those lines. :)

Replies

• PrincessGlitterTush
    Options
    Well I'm going to add you cause our weight seems to be around the same. However, i can't tell you how to control those urges as I've slipped up twice today. Really bad day. However, Its so amazing to know youre losing weight, so JUST DO IT. Its the best feeling.
  • fbmandy55
    fbmandy55 Posts: 5,263 Member
    Options
    Adding you as well!

First, don't get discouraged! It's a long process and will not happen quickly.
    Don't deny yourself treats. Everything is ok in moderation, you'll find yourself preferring the healthier choices in time.
    Drink water.
    The dedication is totally worth it!
  • xsopredictablex
    Options
    Thanks for the adds! Also, I've already been cutting out the soda. I've drank waaaaayyyy too much soda. I know that's one of the biggest ones that hurt me. Haha. :)
  • lisa_lotte
    Options
    Welcome :happy:

I would say drink LOADSE of water (good for your skin too!) cut back on soda and make sure you count EVERYTHING when you add food to your diary (a lot of people forget to add things like salad cream for example).

It terms of controling urges... If I get a bit of a craving for something sweet in the evening I brush my teeth. Sounds weird but the minty taste of the toothpaste will put you off eating sweets... AND it's good for your teeth!

Good Luck :flowerforyou:
  • airmazing
    Options