Calorie burn...Is a Heart Rate Monitor really more precise?

Options
Okay, I have a problem with the whole calorie burn or potentially no burn. I put on my polar watch and HRM for swimming, which I've never done before...and swam for 85 minutes, 110 lengths. If I were to enter it here, mph will tell me I've burned approximately 1200 calories. However, my watch told me I burned 414. WTF??? I'd rather believe I was burning 1200, but what if all I'm really burning is 414??? I feel so depressed now.

Replies

• Misiaxcore
    Misiaxcore Posts: 659 Member
    Options
    Well I guess it depends how hard you were going and if you did different time intervals. But I hear chlorine affects the accuracy in water. Still waiting for my hrm so can't say for sure.
  • MissMaryMac33
    MissMaryMac33 Posts: 1,433 Member
    Options
    Go by the watch -- if it has a chest strap.

MFP is guessing.

400 sounds much more possible than 1200. Unless you're about 100 lbs overweight and did 85 minutes of breast stroke -- and you're a man :)
  • jagman23
    Options
    Total distance is how calories burned are calculated. Time doesn't matter, that faster you go the faster you burn the calories but if you end up going the same distance, the total calories burned are equal. Heart rate has nothing to do with it.
  • AZTrailRunner
    AZTrailRunner Posts: 1,199 Member
    Options
    You are gonna burn a whole hell of a lot more than 400 calories swimming that long!!!! I have read numerous times that the HRMs are not very effective under water. That's almost the equivalent to running the same length of time, and I know I burn 1200 cals in an hour of running.
  • km5dx
    km5dx Posts: 16 Member
    Options