30 Day Shred - replacement

Options
I've been trying to do the 30 day shred, but I can't put any kind of weight on my left arm/shoulder due to an old injury. What exercise could I do to replace the push ups in Level 1 that doesn't require the use of my left arm. And, I'm not strong enough to do one arm pushups! :tongue:

Replies

• TipMcE
    TipMcE Posts: 158
    Options
    It's going to get even heavier on the push up/plank style exercises as the levels progress so I'm not sure if this will work for you given your injury. For now, could you try to hold a plank pose (as if you were going to do push ups but stay up with arms straight - keeping arms just under your shoulders). Or a modified plank where you rest on your forearms instead and just hold the pose. This will work your core and give your shoulders a bit of a work out too without the stress of the push up movement. But I'm no expert so I don't know if that would help either. Do you have insurance that would cover physical therapy (if that would help the injury)? Or perhaps invest in some time with a personal trainer who could help you strengthen your shoulder? Good luck :)

PS. I had a hip injury that made walking and sitting down or getting up from a chair very painful. When I went to the doc she said it was due to muscle attrition after years of favoring the other side due to a slight discrepancy in leg length. Physical therapy helped me strengthen the weaker side and the pain went away (with an insert in my shoe). I was convinced I had some sort of fracture or cartilage problem. I'm not sure what your injury is but professionally prescribed exercises might help strengthen it enough to be able to work out.
  • Dizneylvr1971
    Options