I need to lose 17 lbs by 12/17, any suggestions? tips???

Options
Hello everyone, I am new to this but it seems like a real neat site. I want to lose weight for the long term, but I also have an event on December 17th. I want to lose 17 lbs by then, any veteran MyFitnessPal users that can give me some pointers or can share success stories??

Replies

• misslyssx
    Options
    I lost 15lbs in two months. I wasn't on a particularly rigorous schedule. I was consuming around 1200 calories a day and working out only twice a week for about 30-45 minutes. I snacked on vegetables mostly and had a small treat like a pudding every night. I ate every 3 hours, roughly, and tried not too late into the day. Pretty basic tips, but I hope it helps!
  • AdrienneKaren
    AdrienneKaren Posts: 168 Member
    Options
    That's about 1.5lbs per week which is very doable. Just set your goals at wanting to lose that much per week and MFP will tell you how many calories to eat.
  • tiggerbounce411
    tiggerbounce411 Posts: 401 Member
    Options
    I dropped soda's, started drinkin water and walking 30 min a night while staying in my 1200 calories and dropped 10 pounds just in the first 2 weeks..yay water weight..lol. That is comepletely do-able. Make time to walk, snack on lots of fruit and veggies in between meals and stay in your calories alotted. I didn't eat OVERLY healthy and still lost so I am sure you can!
  • MadiB89
    MadiB89 Posts: 2 Member
    Options
    my first piece of advice is cut out any beverages other than water unsweetened tea or unsweetened coffee. if you drink alot of coke or juices it will help you alot to get rid of them.
    second piece of advice is cut out fried foods. grilled always has about 1/3 of the calories!
  • pbl1966
    pbl1966 Posts: 207 Member
    Options