Newbie ... a bit lost!

Options
Hi, I'm totally new to 'My Fitness Pal' and just found and installed the app yesterday! I'm also new to dieting and calorie counting so this is a bit of a learning curve at the moment. I am having trouble adding simple foods that I am not able to scan. I have been looking around the site but can only find a place to create your own meals so far, but would love to find a list of foods to give me an idea of how many calories may be in my meals or drinks. When I Google for these I seem to get wildly conflicting answers so I need help. All I needed to know was how many calories are in instant caffeinated coffee with about a 1/4 cup of soya milk? I've found answers ranging from 30 calories to 500 - very confusing!

This app is amazing and the first I have found that seems to be able to scan any UK food! I am amazed it's free, do they make enough money from their advertising to be able to provide such a comprehensive service? It's excellent! :)

Replies

• TrishKennett
    Options
    I've found the food database to be really comprehenisve - so far there are very few things I have tried that aren't already on there. If you get stuck, I found the "create a recipe" section can usually work out the calories you need. Make sure you plan what you eat, and then the plan will work! Good luck!
  • Chairless
    Chairless Posts: 588 Member
    Options
    whatever food it is break it down into its composite components and use whatever measurements you have.

So

Coffee decaf - 4 cals
    Water - 0 Cals
    Soya Milk - 38 cals to 100ml, so (1/4) US cup = 59.1470591 millilitres so lets say 20 cals for the soya.

Your coffee is roughly 25 cals, add a new food give it that value, use that.

It gets easier as you build up a list of commonly used foods.
  • ShelleyD81
    ShelleyD81 Posts: 237 Member
    Options
    Hi and welcome to MFP!
    I have been on here a few weeks and am loving this site, everyone is so supportive and friendly.