Motivation for the already "healthy"

Options
Hi all! I'm pretty new here, just joined about a week ago.

I'm 5"5' and 145 pounds, so my BMI is in the "healthy" or "normal" range... though it's creeping towards overweight. So a little over a week ago, I decided I want to get in shape, lose about 10 pounds, and tone up.

The problem I'm having is that I guess since I'm already decently small, the weight loss will be very slow for me. I'm not a very patient person, and I find this frustrating. I know I've only been at this for a little over a week, but in that period of time I've been eating MUCH healthier (I'm a college student and used to eat fast food for 1-2 meals a day, now I've been eating fruit and healthy meals at home), and exercising daily (30 minutes of aerobics and crunches and sit-ups, whereas I used to NEVER exercise.). I thought with all that, by now I would at least see at least a little, tiny difference, but I still look, feel, and weigh exactly the same. It's rather discouraging.

Has anyone else had this issue? If so, how did you motivate yourself to push through it, and has it been worth it? I'm definitely not ready to give up yet, but in another week or two if nothing has changed I know I'll be very, very discouraged.

Thanks for reading :)

Replies

• PJFaber
    PJFaber Posts: 47
    Options
    Don't get discouraged. Keep at it. Take measurements. Sometimes the first thing we notice is how clothes fit.
  • travelerkate
    travelerkate Posts: 18 Member
    Options
    Welcome to MFP! I'm in the same category- technically healthy, but I need to tone up and lose a few pounds. It does take a while for me to see the difference on my scale, but I find I have more strength and endurance. Try to use those as measurements, not just inches and pounds. See if you can add on an extra rep or 10 more minutes to your cardio; you'll be surprised how quickly your body adapts to each challenge.