Yoga

Options
I've been reading a little about different types of yoga, and am really interested in starting some of the exercise....does anyone know which is the best type of yoga for aiding in weight loss? Most of the things I've read are related to stretching and toning the body....which is good too!! what are your experiences and opinions of yoga?

Replies

• esmecgg
    esmecgg Posts: 38
    Options
    *BUMP*
  • fridayjustleft04
    fridayjustleft04 Posts: 851 Member
    Options
    I don't know specifics on any particular kind of yoga, but Biggest Loser has a yoga weight loss DVD that you can get on Amazon for dirt cheap. It's really good.
  • MikeDailyIntake
    Options
    I tried it about a year and a half ago, I wasn't really a big fan but the girl to guy ratio was nice. haha
  • Jean410
    Jean410 Posts: 104
    Options
    I'm not a yoga expert and I'm trying to lose weight too. But I think of yoga as a full body massage that I give to myself. I feel so great afterwards. Great compliment to my workout, but still need to get in the cardio.
  • dreamgurl2324
    dreamgurl2324 Posts: 191 Member
    Options
    I LOVE yoga! If your new to yoga I wouldnt go and jump into the hardest. I would start with a beginners class or dvd. Vinyasa Yoga is a great all over body work out. It's resistance training using your own body weight. It is great for flexability relaxation stress relief. Hatha yoga is a great burn too. But I would defintly start with a beginner until you get comfortable with the poses and can do them correctly. Always remember to keep your shoulders away from your ears and shoulder blades down the back you dont want to hurt your rotater cuf :)
  • jakejacobsen
    jakejacobsen Posts: 595 Member
    Options
    I am not sure on the weight loss but my Dr and I discussed this topic and she said its very beneficial for flexibly and helps with arthritis and fibromyalgia pain.
  • cheshirechic
    cheshirechic Posts: 489 Member
    Options