Physical Therapy

Options
Hey all,

Just throwing this out there. I'm currently in a seemingly never ending stretch of physical therapy due to a condition called spondylolysis, which is a stress fracture of a specific part of a vertebral bone. I have a lumbar spine anomaly that causes some other problems/pain as well.

What this all boils down to is that I am a 24-year-old otherwise healthy young woman who can't exercise, because my fracture isn't healing. All I'm allowed to do are my physical therapy exercises, which are not aggresive or satisfying.

I'm just wondering if there's anybody else out there going through something similar and feeling the same frustrations that I am. I'd like to get back into the gym and into playing some rec sports with friends, but I just can't. That leaves the weight loss pretty much all down to diet and it is difficult. Anyone have any suggestions or been in the same situation?

Andrea

Replies

• Mustangsally1000
    Mustangsally1000 Posts: 860 Member
    Options
    I hear you! I have an artificial hip that I dislocated 2x this summer..before the 4th of July. Spent the rest of the summer in a brace and am now in physical therapy. Altho, for me, the PT is pretty intense and I'm really sweating when it's done. I put the warm up (usually a bike, or treadmill for 15 min) in as cardio and then I have 80 minutes of exercises. I log those as calesthenics (can't spell, sorry). But, other than that..walking. I've been pretty much stymied in my weight loss for the last 4 months. It sucks! :grumble: I put on 6 pounds right after the dislocation (don't know why..it wasn't the food), and I have finally lost that and 2 more. But...here I sit.

Gonna build a camp site with a warm structure on my plateau pretty darned soon. Can't figure out how to get off the damn thing!

Don't think I"m much help. :noway: Keep up with the PT..somehow this will all work out. Good luck!! :drinker:
  • dancingnancies
    dancingnancies Posts: 255 Member
    Options