Help for a beginner...seriously a beginner

Options
Ok....I need some help....I can't go from couch to marathon without some in between help. Anyone that is just getting up and starting to walk...I need some warm up exercises and I need to know how to stretch without pulling, tearing or otherwise injuring something in this soon to be 50 year old body. I was too ambitious a couple of years ago, ordered a yoga (yoga for dummies type) video and managed to put myself out of commission for a week or so. Seems the muscles that had become quite comfortable sitting on the couch had a problem with me trying to make them do things they were not used to. :sick: So, if anyone can give me some BABY STEP instructions I (and my various muscles and joints) would be very grateful!

Replies

• jlhill7
    jlhill7 Posts: 226 Member
    Options
    I am a beginner also. I have children and work a strenuous job so I can't be out of commission. I found that doing about 3-5 min activity several times a day is better for me. Good Luck :-)
  • rml_16
    rml_16 Posts: 16,414 Member
    Options
    Never, ever, ever try to do yoga on your own if you haven't first taken several classes with a qualified instructor. That's incredibly dangerous! If you don't injure yourself, there's still a very good chance you're doing the poses wrong because it's very difficult to feel if you're doing them right. You need guidance.

You should stretch AFTER your workout, not before. There are many ways to stretch. Yoga's very good, but again, please take some classes.

To stretch the calves, use a step or curb and body weight by hanging your heel off the edge. Straddles are good, but don't push farther than your body wants to go. I don't even know how to explain most stretches. lol Maybe look some up on YouTube?
  • melbasc
    melbasc Posts: 32 Member
    Options