how to prevent shin splints when running?

Options
anyone have any suggestions on how to prevent your shins from hurting and cramping when running and for days after? I stretch them out good for 15 minutes before running and still can't keep the shin splints from coming!

Replies

• utes09
    utes09 Posts: 561 Member
    Options
    Do you have proper running shoes?? I've been running for over three years and my first year were just on generic under armour shoes. I finally went to a running store and got fitted for a good shoe. I developed the worst shin splints ever about six months ago and decided it was time to get new shoes.

You should get new shoes about every thousand miles or so.
  • spammyanna
    spammyanna Posts: 871 Member
    Options
    Shoes, its all about the shoes.
  • nikkih9
    nikkih9 Posts: 1 Member
    Options
    Good shoes are definately a good starting point, and stretching is good. You can also try icing them after you go running. What works for me when I get sore shins is getting them massaged - getting rid of all the knots in the muscles makes a huge difference.
  • TnTHawkins
    TnTHawkins Posts: 285 Member
    Options
    Try streching by placing your foot up against a curb then push your knee of the same leg forward. It seems to help me.
  • wallacam194
    Options
    i probably should get new shoes. i only have my puma running sneakers and have had them a year. ill try getting new ones and massaging/icing my shins. hopefully that will help!
  • jlohern
    jlohern Posts: 52 Member
    Options
    My track coach in high school always had us end our practices with exercises to help prevent shin splints. We would have to walk the length of the basketball court and back (1) on our tip toes, (2) on our heels, (3) with toes pointed in, and (4) with toes pointed out. It always helped me.
  • frmeital
    Options
    This is from an article about top causes and solutions for shin splints, I found it helpful when I needed it: