Best goal for weekly weight loss?

Options
Hiya, I am a newbie and I hsave set my weekly weight loss at one pund but I am starting to think I should move it up to tweo pounds (or about one kilo since I am using kilos to measure my weight). Any suggestions? First week going really well, feeling good and learning lots about calories!! :) Current weight 87kilos, goal weight 70 kilos.

Replies

• heatherdills
    heatherdills Posts: 53 Member
    Options
    I set mine for 1-1/2 lbs per week. That seems to work well for me. Good luck!!
  • FindingMyself239
    Options
    I would stay where you are but if you up for te challenge why not???? go for it and feel free 2 add me im alwy here:)
  • DanyelleKimberly
    DanyelleKimberly Posts: 45 Member
    Options
    I have mine set at 2lbs a week. I did this becaue I don't eat enough and send my body into starvation mode. So losing one pound a week was alot of food for me to consume that I wasn't used to. Having it set for two pounds allows me to eat more to keep from going to starvation mode and continue to exercise. I think you should play with it a little and see whats best for you. I only lose about a pound to a pound and a half a week. It really just depends
  • ashnm88
    ashnm88 Posts: 748
    Options
    I have mine set to 1lb a week as recommended, and I have been losing every week. Slow is best, more likely to keep it off.
  • cl2k4
    cl2k4 Posts: 6 Member
    Options
    Be careful with losing weight quickly! I lost 60 pounds in 6 months in 2007 (so about 2 pounds a week) and had gained all but 10 of it back 9 months later. When I lost the same 60 pounds in 2008 (so about a pound a week) I only gained 30 of it back by mid 2010. Now, I have lost about 35 since then at a rate of a half pound a week average and though this has taken me 14 months I feel healthier, have more energy, and don't even feel like I am on a diet!