how much food should i be eating?

Options
I am new to this whole dieting thing! I know that 6 small meals is what i should eat but im not for sure how much i should be eating per meal? When i first started dieting i apparently wasnt eating enough so i lost weight at first and then i kept gaining only eating like 1000 calories a day. So i upped my calories and my weight evened out, im wondering if im not eating enough still because i just seem to maintain my weight now. Like for example for breakfast i usually eat an egg or 2 egg whites, a whole peice of toast and an orange. Should i be eating more? Thanks in advance:)

Replies

• katemiddletonisawesome
    Options
    Measure and weigh your foods just to start so you get a general idea. Follow the portion sizes listed on packages and think that everytime you go out to eat, a normal serving is about half of what is on your plate.
  • anhancock10
    anhancock10 Posts: 148 Member
    Options
    Thank you:)
  • Tonnina
    Tonnina Posts: 979 Member
    Options
    Play with this site... It is really helpful!! http://www.webmd.com/diet/healthtool-portion-size-plate
  • gp79
    gp79 Posts: 1,799 Member
    Options
    It doesn't matter how many times per day you eat. Do what works for your schedule because that's what's going to keep the better habits going in the long run.

What matters is, calories in / calories out.

Your protein and fat are essential.

A general starting point....
    .8-1g per lb of body weight for protein
    .4g per lb of body weight for fat
    fill in the rest of your calories with carbohydrates
  • michelledruss
    michelledruss Posts: 40 Member
    Options