Is eating 1200 too little?

Options
Hi, all. I'm new to MyFitnessPal so let me give you some background info: i'm 18 & weigh roughly 140lbs. My overall goal is to get down to 105,but I'd love to even ben 120 soon. According to the site, I'd be 120 in 10 weeks if I ate 1200 cals a day, is this true? What if I exercised? Would I need to eat more if I exercised?

Replies

• Ian214
    Ian214 Posts: 36 Member
    Options
    Yes your "net calories" have to be minimum of 1200, so burn 200 cals and you should eat 1400 cals to get a net rating of 1200,
  • KavemanKarg
    Options
    It is relative to your body weight so not really seeing that as some magic number you have to worry about going below.

Try it out and see how you do.
  • skierxjes
    skierxjes Posts: 938 Member
    Options
    Eat at LEAST 1200 a day. Eat back exercise calories. Drink lots and lots of water.
  • ljb04
    ljb04 Posts: 1 Member
    Options
    If you exercise you get more calories- just keep up with how many calories you burn and then add that to your daily goal
  • ladyulliman
    ladyulliman Posts: 3 Member
    Options
    The cool thing about myfitnesspal.com is that if you log your exercise, it will automatically calculate that into your daily calorie goal. So if your base goal is 1200 calories per day and you burn 100 calories today (and log it here) you'll earn 100 extra calories to eat.

I've read that women shouldn't go below 1200 calories per day. When you do, you'll start losing muscle mass. So be sure to get you're required calories in!
  • cppeace
    cppeace Posts: 764 Member
    Options
    It's really a person by person basis. I'd say put it at 1250 to give yourself some wiggle room.. Never be more than 100 under 1200... Make healthy choices and eat back at least 1/3 of exercise calories. :) all my opinion though
  • Sp1nGoddess
    Sp1nGoddess Posts: 1,138 Member
    Options