? for obese people about HRM

Options
Hi I have a question about what Heart Rate Monitor you guys use. The reason I am asking the more obese people is because I have a pedometer and I find it is not accurate in calculating my steps and I am thinking because it doesn't sit flat against my leg? it sits against my stomach (spare tire of fat :( soon to be less )So I am wondering maybe having so much extra fat could affect a HRM also? I dunno I am open to all opinions. Anyways so what HRM do you use and like and approx cost you paid. And does it have a chest band and really what is that for? I am sorry to sound so uneducated about this but I am new to this and want to increase my chances of losing the 100+ pounds I need to lose and keep it off. So thanks for any advice . Also any other staples (weightloss supplies) you find you couldn't live with out? I can not afford time wise or money wise to have a gym membership so everything I do is at home. Thank you.

Replies

• Athena413
    Athena413 Posts: 1,709 Member
    Options
    I have a Garmin FR60 and I love it. It has a chest strap and really, you don't want one that doesn't have a chest strap - they're just not as accurate. I paid around $90 for mine. I'm not sure how obese you actually are, but I was pushing 300 when I got mine and it's worked just fine. If you want it to count steps, though, make sure you get one that has the foot pod with it (as far as Garmin goes). Message me if you have any specific questions about the one I have as I'm not on the message boards as much.
  • brooke0206
    brooke0206 Posts: 255 Member
    Options
    My starting weight was 208 and I want to get down to 140ish. I use a Polar FT4 and it cost me about $90 or so. It does have a chest strap which has a transmitter on it. The HRMs with a chest strap are more accurate than just the watches because they have a more accurate reading of your heart. I love my HRM. I hope this helps a little!
  • Pocket_Pixi