Help! Do you exercise when sick or starting to get sick?

Options
I think I might be getting a stupid cold. I haven't had one in ages but I have a sore throat and I feel achy and I am am breaking out in a rash on my shoulders and chest. I have a 5k to walk on Thursday and I am worried now I might be too sick by then. Today is the first day I have had any symptoms and if it gets no worse than this I can handle it. My question is when you are sick should you power through and do your workouts or do you avoid it? I am a nurse and I don't even know the answer to this! lol

I actually see reasons to do it and not to do it. Curious as to what others think about this. Thanks in advance! :)

Replies

• woou
    woou Posts: 668 Member
    Options
    Well, personally, I learned my lesson in a very painful way last month, lol. No more exercising when sick for me.
  • SandyEdge
    SandyEdge Posts: 72 Member
    Options
    I usually rest and let my body get better first.
  • jlcampbell2008
    Options
    I do not exercise when I am ill. I usually get really nasty upper respiratory infections (URI) though which limit my air flow capacity. I was sick with the stomach bug last week which was promptly followed by a URI and I tried working out this morning and I started to sweat much faster than I usually do, so I know I'm still recovering.

Load up on Vitamin C and Zinc and rest. You can always get back on track when your body is not fighting an infection.
  • buddy529
    buddy529 Posts: 41 Member
    Options
    I like to rest, especially since I do most of my workouts at the gym and I don't want to get anyone else sick or spread my germs when I'm using the machines.
  • fitjunk
    fitjunk Posts: 160 Member
    Options
    Im getting a cold/sore throat and I just finished working out, feeling better! I guess it depends on how sick you are and what you have. Sometimes our bodies need the rest other times we just suck it up and work through it. Hope you feel better.