new and struggling to cut out sugar!

Options
hi all im new to this, im really struggling to cut of sugar. its only been afew days and i crave it so bad! i usually eat sweets and jellys all day everyday now im trying to get healthy so cut it all out even sugary drinks,
anyone else struggled and what worked for you?

also looking for new friends so please add me :-)

Replies

• Allyson1985
    Options
    When I first went off sweets, I ate a lot of fruit in place of sugary foods. The natural sugars seemed to curb my cravings.
  • taso42
    taso42 Posts: 8,980 Member
    Options
    Eat things that are not sugar. When you're full, the craving will probably go away. It may come back again later. Then you eat more non-sugar things. And repeat.
  • Artemis_Acorn
    Artemis_Acorn Posts: 836 Member
    Options
    On the recommendation of a doctor, I supplemented Chromium Picolinate. My sugar cravings were substantially reduced very quickly.
  • aekaya
    aekaya Posts: 163 Member
    Options
    Trying drinking herbal tea or hazelnut coffee (without sugar) instead of sugary drinks. You could also eat fruit or make your own smoothies, or you could add natural sugars like honey to your diet. You could also use stevia in your drinks! If you're craving a sweet snack, you could eat something like greek yogurt with granola and berries, or a bar of dark chocolate as well. Good luck :)
  • LauriesTrying2BeFit
    Options
    iv just started to drink green tea, im hoping the cravings will go away soon! ill give it a week before i try honey or maple
  • yummummum
    Options
    I cut out sugar and starchy carbs. The first week was TERRIBLE. Second week HARD. Then the cravings went away. I have zero cravings now!

I eat lots of veggies fat protein. I am very careful about splenda and stuff too as that can set me off craving as well.