What to do on high exercise day?

Options
Hey friends. As many of you know, I'm a fitness instructor. Thursdays are nutty as I teach two spin classes, but I also helped out a friend who got injured...so today I will burn..without counting afterburn, which for me is HIGH....between 1400-1600 calories. I'm still trying to lose weight so I don't want to eat a bucket load...but this is a lot of calories. I'm not sure how big to go...eat a lot? Eat normally? This week have all been two a days, so at least a 1000 calorie burn pretty much every day. Thanks for answering!!

Replies

• nlewis22
    nlewis22 Posts: 107 Member
    Options
    I would just do what your body wants you to do. Eat your normal meals, and if you're still hungry 20-30 minutes later, have a little snack. You're burning more than enough to keep losing weight, so don't punish yourself by denying the energy that it needs.
  • balfonso
    balfonso Posts: 370 Member
    Options
    Well I'm no nutritionist but I usually just listen to my body. If I'm "feeing" hungry I'll drink water, and if I'm still hungry I'll eat.
  • hottottie11
    hottottie11 Posts: 907 Member
    Options
    Does your activity level include you work as a fitness instructor?

If not, log those calories and eat up to your goal. If everything is accurate (calorie intake, calories burned, activity level), then your deficit will still be there.

If you include your work as a fitness instructor into your activity level and this is an abnormally high day, log those instead and eat up to your calorie goals.

Either way, you have to eat to fuel your body, which means you should eat a little bit more today than normal
  • KacieHetrick
    KacieHetrick Posts: 259 Member
    Options
    I'm new to exercising, only recently have I started doing Zumba and I do the Zumba 4 x's/week a 60 minute class 3 x's and a 30 minute once a week. I saw your post and I'm curious what is afterburn? Thanks in advance for your help!
  • fitaliciag
    Options