Is running enough?

Options

Replies

• Silvercivic
    Silvercivic Posts: 156 Member
    Options
    I don't have time to read all of the responses so sorry if this has been said- I just want to add my 2 cents!

I've been a runner for most of my life. I took a break when I was pregnant (I had 2 babies in a year and a half) and now I'm back to running.

I did a push-ups program that I found on my phone over the summer, and I've been doing kickboxing for the last 5 months, and I have noticed a HUGE difference in my running now because of it. (before the babies all I did was run or other cardio)

I am stronger, faster, and more comfortable with my running. Having a strong upper body is really really helpful when you are doing distance runs especially. I've run 3 marathons and I'd like to run more- and I will definitely keep up with the upper body training. I can't recommend push-ups enough!!
  • wolfchild59
    wolfchild59 Posts: 2,608 Member
    Options
    My running pace and endurance has increased steadily since I added strength and cross train days into my work out schedule. When I was only running I really wasn't seeing any measurable improvements and had frequent injuries and bonked runs. Since adding the strength and cross training I haven't had a single injury or bonked run.

When I start training in January for my half I will continue with having strength and cross training as part of my routine as well as adding in one day that will be fartlek, or similar, training as well to help build my pace and endurance even further.
  • ChristiRainwater
    Options
    I actually gained weight training for a marathon. If you want to lose weight, just running isn't going to cut it, you need to do some strength training, and not just focus on running a particular distance, make sure you do some speedwork/intervals/hills.
  • pmich08
    pmich08 Posts: 193
    Options