Non-caffiene energy/focus boosters?

Options
Hey MFP friends,

I'm a college student and I also work part time, so I'm a pretty busy girl.
Up until recently, I never drank coffee unless it was in a Frappuchino--a treat I have sparingly and not for the caffeine content!
While I don't drink straight, hot coffee, I do LOVE that sweet coffee-and-creamer taste, and since I've been so busy with school lately I find myself drinking iced coffee fairly regularly. If I don't have it, I'm the type that needs to come home and take a mid-afternoon nap to get my focus back. I won't have more than a 16oz cup during one day, but I do NOT want to become dependent on caffeine.

Does anyone know of any caffeine-free alternatives to coffee that boost energy and focus?
I feel like I should have higher energy levels, being as young as I am. Regular exercise and healthier eating has certainly helped, but I still feel like I get fatigued too easily for my age.

Replies

• luhluhlaura
    luhluhlaura Posts: 278 Member
    Options
    Aww man, I just realized I spelled caffeine wrong in my heading. ): fail
  • Dave198lbs
    Dave198lbs Posts: 8,810 Member
    Options
    I didnt even notice the spelling...

but I dont know of anything that gives that nice coffee lift...so Im bumping to see the answers

thanks for asking this
  • h2onut
    h2onut Posts: 164
    Options
    Not that I normally watch this but... was home sick yesterday and caught a Dr. Oz show... he covered this exact topic on yesterday's show - check out his website;)
  • luhluhlaura
    Options
    Thanks a lot h2onut! I'll check it out and let you guys know if I find anything interesting :)
  • jinxypinxy
    jinxypinxy Posts: 44 Member
    Options
    I have exactly the same issue. I used to eat sugar to keep me alert, but that's kinda out the window now!
  • h2onut
    Options