Inexpensive Recipes?

Options
Anyone have inexpensive recipes to share? I'm a college student and would love to find recipes that are cheap and healthy, or can be turned into several meals!
Thanks!

Replies

• Pandorian
    Pandorian Posts: 2,055 MFP Moderator
    Options
    Beans (dried) are cheap and go a long way... chili.. bean soup, baked beans....
    Rice if you can catch a BIG bag (25lb or 50lb) on for $20 you've got a lot of eating...
    Eggs - boil 'em up they make great portable snacks for a week once hard-boiled

Buy in bulk when you can, buy the least processed forms of everything you can to keep the most money in your pockets.
    Chicken goes a long way, roast a whole one dry in a roast pan low and slow (325 for 5 or 6 hours) it'll be falling off the bones and you can take the shredded meat to pre-measured containers for tossing on top of a salad or into an omelet etc.
  • dat5053
    dat5053 Posts: 13 Member
    Options
    I'm also a college student and i'm broke so I have found a bunch of good recipes. This one is my favorite.
    Chicken Taco Bowls
    2 chicken breasts
    1 cup brown rice
    1 can black beans
    Salsa
    1 bag frozen corn
    hot sauce/ chili powder

Bake the chicken (marinade it in hot sauce if you like spicy stuff) and shred it up and cook the rice. Throw everything together in a big frying pan till everything is hot. Add hot sauce, salsa and chili powder to taste. You can also add gucamole and fat-free sour cream and cheese to it. I make this and it lasts me for lunch a whole week. It's good to freeze for later too.
  • Momkat65
    Momkat65 Posts: 317 Member
    Options
    Tuna = make sandwiches, rollups and salads
    Bags of carrots+cabbage=coleslaw, stir fry, soups
    Chicken, whole(roasted or crockpot)=several meals, broth, wraps, soup, stir fry, salads, chili, burritos, sandwiches
  • DreamLittleDarling
    DreamLittleDarling Posts: 800 Member
    Options
    Bump for tomorrow...