Fruit

Options
Hi.
This might sound a bit silly, but I've really been put off eating fruit by the amount of sugar that is in it. I'm not very good at the whole nutrition knowledge, but can anyone please help me - or does anyone feel the same way? I'm happy to eat fruit and vegetables generally, I love them... but the sugar is really hard to overlook. Can anyone help me with figuring out what I should be eating. I find it really tough to balance out all of the different areas. I tend to have too much protein generally. Everything else I'm usually ok with.

Thanks
Luisa :-)

Replies

• fiberartist219
    fiberartist219 Posts: 1,865 Member
    Options
    Yes, there is sugar in apples and oranges, but they also have nutrients and fiber that candy doesn't.

If you eat a couple pieces of fruit, it's good for you. If you eat a whole bag of apples or oranges, or a whole box of cherries, then you are probably overdoing it and the sugar would be bad in that kind of quantity.

Juice seems wonderful on the surface, because it still has the nutrients that the fruit does, but it doesn't have the fiber. So juice is better than candy, and whole, raw, fruit is better than juice.

That's my thoughts on the issue.
  • malibulu
    Options
    yes, thanks for that. I don't tend to have that much of a "sweet" tooth generally anyway. But lately, I've found myself wanting something and having a bag of crisps or something because it shows as less sugar than the fruit. MFP puts a certain amount of sugar allowance every day and today a banana was only a few points off my total daily allowance. How can I figure out what is "good" sugar" and when its too much? or the wrong kind? because normally I'd eat a clementine or something, just finding it sooo offputting that it has so much sugar in it. :-)
  • malibulu
    Options
    bump :-)
  • ElizabethRoad
    ElizabethRoad Posts: 5,138 Member
    Options