Love the site!

Options
My name is Cheryl, I have recently lost 18lbs. and was looking for a way to successfully lose the next 10lbs. I have recently injured myself, so I am unable to exercise at this point. I am going into the gym to strength train, but cardio-kickboxing class and the treadmill are out until my leg heals. This has been very disappointing, any suggestions of exercise I might be able to perform? I strained my calf muscle to the point I needed an MRI to make sure I didn't tear my achilies tendon. I am still unable to push off the ball of my foot to walk at a normal gait. I figure watching my calorie intake will help my goal to lose 10lbs. I am a teacher and one of my high school students recommended this site. I am very excited to participate with all the members here. Good luck everyone with your diet and fitness plan.

Replies

• mfinney
    mfinney Posts: 314
    Options
    Hi Cheryl,

what a bummer! i think the best thing you can do is stay positive and do what you can do -- if you're going to a gym, there are still some exercises you can do, that will at least keep you headed in the right direction. but i understand the frustration of being partially immobilized.

now, more than ever, i would watch the calorie intake, along with the TYPEs of calories you are consuming to keep you on track. make sure you adjust your intake so as not to starve, but understanding you are not going to be as active or burning near the calories for a while.

we'll support you -- just hang in there and you'll be back to your old self before you know it. healthy bodies recover faster!!!

good luck!!
  • photoman67
    photoman67 Posts: 116 Member
    Options
    Can you still get on the bike?
  • MOMOFTWO29
    MOMOFTWO29 Posts: 8,276 Member
    Options