Help Cooking Brown Rice

Options
Hi Everyone,

I like to think I am a good cook but I struggle with a few things and one of these is rice! (unless it is risotto/pallea)

I was wondering if anyone could tell me how to cook brown rice correctly (without a rice cooker)

And how much I would need for 2 people (uncooked and what this yields cooked)

Replies

• Janda06
    Janda06 Posts: 168 Member
    Options
    This is the best way/recipe I have found to get brown rice cooked perfectly. I sub the water with chicken broth. Hope that helps!!

http://www.foodnetwork.com/recipes/alton-brown/baked-brown-rice-recipe/index.html
  • Janda06
    Janda06 Posts: 168 Member
    Options
    Leftovers also freeze very well. Just take the leftover rice and use a measuring cup to "mold" serving sizes. Plop them down on a parchment paper lined cookie sheet. Stick the sheet in the freezer until the portions harden and then store them in a freezer bag.
  • fiberartist219
    fiberartist219 Posts: 1,865 Member
    Options
    What's wrong with a rice cooker? I find that I can't cook decent rice without one.
  • jgoff3003
    jgoff3003 Posts: 189 Member
    Options
    What's wrong with a rice cooker? I find that I can't cook decent rice without one.
    I wish i had a rice cooker...i don't have one thats the problem! I used to at my mum and dad's house but i have since moved in with my partner and I asked him to get the microwave rice when out shopping but he got normal rice so I am screwed lol
  • mari0605
    mari0605 Posts: 65 Member
    Options
    Fool Proof Oven Baked Brown Rice

Ingredients:
    1 1/2 cups Brown Rice (uncooked)
    2 1/3 cups Water
    2 tsp Olive Oil
    1 tsp Salt

Directions