the "I don't eat this very often, so having one would not hu

Options
HELP! I am new to MFP. I have about 35 lbs. to lose. My problem has been the mindset of "I don't eat this way very often so this ice cream (or whatever) won't kill me". Also, known as the "well, I can't forbid myself of all treats" mindset!
Need some motivation and would love to make some friends here to help keep me motivated. Thanks! :flowerforyou:

Replies

• jayb123x
    jayb123x Posts: 138
    Options
    Welcome to MFP!
  • beachgirl1218
    Options
    Thank you for the welcome and friend request!
  • CMmrsfloyd
    CMmrsfloyd Posts: 2,383 Member
    Options
    If you don't already have one, get a kitchen scale - a digital one is great b/c they are accurate and you can place a bowl on top and then 'zero it out' so you're weighing only the food you place in the bowl. When you're having one of those 'I don't have it very often but I want it right now' moments, get out your kitchen scale and weigh out a PROPER portion of that ice cream (portion size should be listed in grams on the carton, so you can use your scale to accurately see how much you get for the calories listed), see what a small amount you get in a serving size for the amount of calories listed on the carton. If you still want it, eat it, log it, fit it into your day and move on. You don't have to suddenly give up everything you enjoy on this plan. But you DO have to account for it properly if you want to see results. Seeing that tiny portion for the amount of calories may be enough to have you craving it less often, b/c those calories are precious and often you can fill up better by choosing something different. :-)