Getting my head around the deficit

Options
Hi everyone, I've been losing weight slowly for about 2 years and have just this week joined up here because i felt that what i was doing was just too slow and frustrating.
My trainer has my BMR at 1700 and suggests that i eat 1500 cals, combined with 300-400 cal burn in the gym. This should put me at a 500-600 deficit.
When i put in all my details on MFP i come up with a 1450 daily limit, When i add my exercise, usually around 300 cals(conservatively) i can consume 1700 cals. There is no deficit here.
Is this correct? Who is right? I am working out 6 days a week. 3 x heavy weights sessions and 3x 45 cardio.
I am going to be really p***** off if i gain weight.

Replies

• cgrout78
    cgrout78 Posts: 1,679 Member
    Options
    If you are working out that much, there is no way eating 1700 calories is going to make you gain weight.
  • MattieJean21
    Options
    I read on here from another persons post that when you eat your exercise calories that you will "maintain" the weight. When you exercise and either don't eat any or eat very few of them back then you will lose weight. I get so confused with it all!
  • cgrout78
    cgrout78 Posts: 1,679 Member
    Options
    Long post short...when you enter your stats in here...and say how much you want to lose, MFP figures out how many calories you need to eat to lose the amount you want. If you exercise and burn more calories you need to eat those calories and you will still lose weight. If you dont' eat your exercise calories you could slow down your weight loss and one of the other people can explain how that all works better than me.

So eat all the calories you're supposed to and you'll lose weight.
  • calicanttakeit
    Options
    The math: BMR = calories needed per day to maintain current weight with no physical activity
    1 pound of fat is 3500 calories