What To Eat Working Nights?

Options
Hi There :smile:

Im a nurse on full time nights and I do between 3-4 nights per week 8-8. When I get up from a night shift its around 5pm and to me its "breckfast time" but naturally its "tea time".
I am struggling to work out what I should eat when I get up & what I should eat during the night.. I dont have a specific time during the night from 8pm - 8am when I eat but its usually around 3am.

Also I often find im drinking more fizzy pop / energy drinks to help me get through the night.. I have started to cut that down by taking in bottled water with cordial in. :drinker:

Can anyone give any suggestions etc.

Many Thanks! :smile:

Replies

• neonshock
    neonshock Posts: 23 Member
    Options
    I often look out for this question because I work nights also. The way I do it (different people do different things and this is what works for me) is to treat every day ending at 00:00. So therefore my day will work out something like @3am I will have 'breakfast' and then when I wake up at around 1pm I will have 'lunch' and then dinner at 6pm.
    I like to have a couple of snacks on-hand when I'm working too, just because, usually something like yogurt. I also have about 3 teas and at least couple of coffees! It isnt so bad at about 15cal each...
  • Cattawall
    Cattawall Posts: 12 Member
    Options
    Yes I have heared of people starting the day from 00.00...

The thing is I can sleep right through from when I get in & go to bed (around 9.30am) till 5/5.30pm

So would you suggest I wake my self up around 1pm/13.00hours to have lunch?

Sarah xx
  • seansquared
    seansquared Posts: 328 Member
    Options
    Shift your entire schedule, not just your work schedule. This means breakfast for you is when you wake up, lunch is 4hrs later, dinner is 5hrs after that, etc.