Exercise while working nights

Options
Having posted up about what to eat on nights im now going to post up how I struggle on nights to exercise.

Im a full time nurse working 3/4 nights per week. I am constantly on my feet wandering up and down. You would think the pounds would drop off but alas they havent!

It generaly takes 2 days to recover from nights, when i finish my last night say on the thursday, im back in the land of the living (ish) by saturday as friday I sleep and im no good to anyone!

Myself & my partner + dog go walking every 2/3 weeks and do a full days walk clocking up from 8-12 miles (but thats only if im not working weekends).

Do any night workers has an exercise routine they do? Im very honest in saying on my days off the last thing I want to be doing is be in a gym!

Any suggestions or advice is welcome :smile:

Replies

• theoneandonlybrookie
    Options
    I have no advice except to say that when I was working two jobs in the fall, I had a very hard time getting more than 3 workouts a week in. I was cocktail waitressing at night until 2 AM and then getting up and going to work the next day. I know what you mean about needing a couple days to recover.

I found that I actually lost quite a bit of weight doing that - I weigh more now than I did then - because of the walking. But I ended up quitting that job, mostly because it ruined my workout routine and health.

I feel for you. It sounds like you're already getting some great walks in. Maybe you could do some free weights at work on your break? I don't know if you have a private place to go. Other than that, I would say if you want to get more workouts in you might just have to go on your days off, as unappealing as that might sound.

Best of luck!
  • KarenLue
    KarenLue Posts: 94 Member
    Options