Starting C25K

Options
Hi everyone! I'm new to both C25K and any type of community support group! I figured I could use the support of others to keep my motivated when I feel like giving up! I've been trying to lose weight so that my husband and I can start a family and I will be as healthy as possible. I have a history of bulimia though, so nutrition has always been an issue, I'm hoping that by adding running to my regimen I will be motivated to be stay on the straight and narrow and not fall back into bad habits. Today was day 1 and I thought I was going to DIE, I couldn't even do the 25 minute cool down walk, my legs were like jello and I just kinda crumbled to the floor in a puddle of sweat and laid there until I could finally breath again! LOL Please tell me I'm not wasting my time because I'm too out of shape for this.... Thanks!

Replies

• dsak
    dsak Posts: 367 Member
    Options
    C25K is great for beginning runners!!! I did it twice... once on the treadmill and once outside (but I started outside in week 5). I ran my first 5K the week after I completed the program outside... and I ran it in under 35 minutes! I was NEVER a runner before... Probably because I just used to go out there and give it my all... as fast as I could, as far as I could. I slowly fizzled. But I kept with it with C25K because it starts you out slowly with running/walking and gradually builds you up.

I actually enjoy running most of the time now. I've run 2 5Ks, and I'm signed up for a 5 mile run in Feb!

Stick with it... it does get better and easier. And if you have to... repeat weeks... No shame in that. And remember... no matter how slow you go, you are still lapping everyone on the couch!!!
  • jpsnickel
    Options