what gives?

Options
I started lifting weights (pretty intensely) a couple weeks ago and now this week I have gained two pounds! I haven't cheated on my diet and have been doing cardio on opposite days. I just don't get it. Anyone have thoughts on why this might be? I am just so frustrated.

Replies

• chgudnitz
    chgudnitz Posts: 4,079
    Options
    I'm not going to say it's probably muscle weight... That seems to be the all to common answer. More than likely it is water weight. When you start a new strength training routine, your body (muscles) retain water (that's why you see them seem to get so much bigger right away) until you get more acclimated to doing weight training.

Hope this helps. In the long run you will see the benefits for sure.
  • vwise
    vwise Posts: 12
    Options
    Stop paying attention the number on the scale and more attention to the inches lost. Have someone do a circumference check. Neck, Shoulders, Chest, Abdomen, Waist, Biceps, Thighs, Calves. If you havent weight lifted for a while your going to gain muscle and yes it does retain more water. Its pretty common that people gain weight. Goodluck
  • msarro
    msarro Posts: 2,748 Member
    Options
    First, its important to note that strength training/weight lifting does next to nothing for weight loss in the way of burning calories - the movements are short, and anaerobic. Burning fat is best accomplished with long sessions of aerobic exercise. Outside of a circuit training environment I wouldn't count on lifting to be a major source of burning calories. That doesn't mean it's pointless though - the benefit it does offer though is that muscle mass means more calories are burnt more efficiently when performing an exercise.