Question For Experienced Runners

I started running last September. I completed a c25k program in November and have since raced in three 5Ks (with another one scheduled in two weeks!). Yesterday, someone on here had a link to an article about proper running form. I have never had any formal training for this sport (which I understand most people have not) and read the article to see if I was running properly -- I really didn't know there was a "correct" way -- remember I am new at this. LOL.
The article said "heel striking" is the worst way to run and results in the most injuries in the long run. Wanting to avoid injuries, I really paid attention today on how my feet land with every step. My normal step is landing pretty much square on my feet.
In your more experienced opinions, is that an acceptable, safe, form? Is it possible, I happened to pick up the "safer" stride by luck?
I tried a few steps of heel striking just to make sure and, sure enough, the second step resulted in pain. Hmmmm. Am I doing something right for a change?

Replies

• scottb81
    scottb81 Posts: 2,538 Member
    Yo are landing mid foot which is good form. Also, try to have a cadence of around 180 steps per minute, land with your foot under your center of mass with the knees lightly bent, and lean forward slightly from the ankles.
  • joakool
    joakool Posts: 434 Member
    Thanks for the input. I guess I can keep doing what I'm doing. :smile:
  • Running form is the subject of lots of articles and debates amongst runners of all levels. There are all kinds of books and articles written on the subject, and not all agree. Some say heel strikes are bad, some say that doesn't matter. Some say barefoot is good, some say not.