lunch suggestions

Options
Hi all,

I am fairly new to MFP and love the site. I noticed that the lunch meat I was using for sandwiches has more sodium per sandwich than I should have in a day so I switched to some microwavable chicken dishes. The new lunches don't have near as much sodium as the lunch meat but still put me over what MFP recommends for daily consumption. Does anyone have recommendations for a lunch that is about 400-600 calories, filling, and can be prepared quickly and easily. I get 30 minutes for lunch and have access to a microwave.

Replies

• jcpmoore
    jcpmoore Posts: 796 Member
    Options
    My most common lunch is leftovers from dinner last night. I intentionally cook extra on dinners for this reason. Barring that, here are my favorites:

grilled chicken salad-carry the chicken in a separate container if you like to warm it before you add it to your salad. Because you grill it, you know how much sodium it has.
    Home made soups
    If you really like sandwiches, try a grilled chicken breast sandwich. With an actual grilled chicken breast.

Your best bet is to replace your processed meat with something less processed. The easiest thing might be using a meat that you cooked yourself, such as baked or grilled chicken breast.

HTH
  • bells4her
    Options
    I like to find a nice recipe that will make 5-6 servings and cook it on Sunday so I have something to eat that's healthy and quick every day for lunch. A hearty soup is always good and filling and you can adjust ingredients to make it low cal, low fat, low sodium, whatever you want if you make it homemade. The suggestion above about making enough dinner for leftovers is good too!
  • reepobob
    reepobob Posts: 1,172 Member
    Options
    My typical lunch (that I pack) is

Rotiserrie chicken (I buy a whole one at the grocery store and divide it into 3-4 6oz. servings...no skin)
    baby carrots
    low fat cheese sticks
    brown rice (reheat from a larger batch made previously)