MFP calculation vs www.healthstatus.com calories to log?

Options
Howdy!
newbie here - never counted calories before
though did ok on atkins...

so I am trying to do this right -
it seems like the calories burned as listed by MFP do not take into consideration ones weight...

my main exercise is vinyasa yoga -
www.healthstatus.com says that is 1,205 calories for 90 minutes
MFP counts that as 348

I want to eat my calories... so I do this correctly
but what to log?

thoughts?
thanks

Replies

• InStabilityKills
    Options
    Try a third website or get a heart rate monitor. Do you feel like you burnt 1000 calories? 1000calories in 90 minutes would have you sweating your butt off quite a bit for that hour and a half.
  • honeysprinkles
    honeysprinkles Posts: 1,757 Member
    Options
    I think Mfp takes your weight that you have entered into consideration when giving you a calorie estimate. Your bet bet is to invest in a heart rate monitor, really.
  • cherryObebe
    Options
    Hi there!

Let me first start by saying welcome! MFP can be a really great tool. As someone that has practiced Bikram Yoga, I can honestly say that I have never burned 1000+ calories in a 90 minute class, and I have never worked out harder than I have in Bikram. That being said, the MFP calculation is probably more accurate. To be most accurate, I highly recommend investing in a heart rate monitor that has a chest strap and calculates your calories burned. Input your own personalized information into your exercise diary.

I hope that you enjoy MFP and good luck on your journey!
  • beachquilt
    beachquilt Posts: 39 Member
    Options
    MFP does take into account your weight. And I don't know of any exercise where you can burn 1200 calories in 90 min! I am thinking healthstatus.com is incorrect. But I am no expert...
  • Dave198lbs
    Dave198lbs Posts: 8,810 Member
    Options
    1205 calories burned for 90 minutes of yoga? (I love bikram yoga so I am not bashing)

NO WAY DUDE!