Swimming

Options
Does anyone here swim? I normally run about 3-4 miles or do about 45 on a cardio machine about 5 times a week, I also do strength training 1-2 times a week. I have a very irritating herniated disc and my doctor recommended swimming. I'm just wondering what a good workout is (ie how many laps or how long?) and any advice for combating boredom while swimming laps? I usually listen to music or podcasts and I think I might be bored silly :)

Thanks all!

Replies

• ZyheeMoongazer
    ZyheeMoongazer Posts: 343 Member
    Options
    Swimming is a great low impact workout. Good for when you have injuries or when you are sore from intensing training. How many laps for a good workout greatly depends on what stroke I think. I'm not good at many different strokes so I stick with breaststroke and freestyle. Breaststroke is a much slower (and harder IMO) stroke so I get a "good" workout with less laps, as to freestyle which is pretty fast.
  • k8bugz
    k8bugz Posts: 64 Member
    Options