Find starting to lose weight and exercise a minefield!!

Options
I am new to this great site. I have over 120lbs to lose and have just joined a gym. Now I need to get my diet under control - I eat big portions of healthy food and snack a lot.

Tried Rosemary Connelly and WW but find that they are very restrictive and cost too much. I have lost weight in the past using the Greek Doctor Diet - but when winter kicks in I lose motivation to diet or Excercise.

Tempted to give up when you find the way you are approaching isnt the right way and a new school of thought says something different. One minute carbs are our best frind next you have to eat lots of protein.

My other fear is being left with saggy skin - how can i make sure this doesnt happen?

Dieting for me would be boring if I have to to stick to a very basic plan excluding lots of food groups as I know I will be losing weight for up to 2 years.

Does anyone have first hand experience of losing this much weight - your help, advice and experiences would be a great help starting me off - thank you. :smile:

Replies

• Kristiehaines
    Kristiehaines Posts: 11 Member
    Options
    Retro,

I started at 308lbs (5'8) and lost a hundred pounds. I'm working on another sixty pounds right now. As far as loose, saggy skin, that hasn't been a problem, really. Sure, you'll have a little, but if you include strength training (weights, etc.) into your workouts, it shouldn't be the nightmare I foresaw when I began this journey. Regardless, a little loose skin is far better than the alternative.
  • melcowenfitness
    melcowenfitness Posts: 221 Member
    Options
    Good morning Retro,

I totally agree with you 100% -any time I have "dieted" and had to restrict myself from one thing or another, I always failed. I actually found success in slowly transitioning the way I eat to a healthier way. Here's the link to the article I used to do that: http://www.melcowenfitness.com/8-week-nutrition-transition