How do you prevent your knees from killing you when running?

Options
No matter if it's on the ground or on a treadmill, my knees are always in pain whenever I run. What can I do to prevent his? FYI, I have "running shoes."

Replies

• 987Runner
    Options
    I'm no medical expert, but what works for me, is easing into running. I don't know if you are a beginning runner or not? I typically run the first five months of the year then quit when it gets hot. However this year, I'm training for a few half marathons and the plans keep saying "ease" into running to prevent injury. They have you start out very slow, short runs/walks so you can build up muscles. I have a tendency to go full out when I run. This time I'm following the plan to a "T" and my knees feel so much better than years past.
  • j_courter
    j_courter Posts: 999 Member
    Options
    my knees hurt occasionally now, but not nearly as much as when i started running. the correct running shoes for your running style and physical make-up is very important. i would also agree with the poster that said "ease into it." i've been running 3-5 miles 3-4 times a week, but when i stretch out my long run too far, my knees suffer. i think some of it is due to the added pounding they take and some is probably due to poor form as my muscles grow tired. don't take on too much too quickly and let your body get used one distance before increasing milage.

hope this helps.
  • svackar
    Options
    I would agree you need to ease yourself into running. I know that I need to make sure that I'm warmed up before I do any running otherwise I have shin splints. Also, if you haven't - you should visit a running store and have them evaluate the type of running shoe you need. It's possible that your shoes are not providing the proper support or providing too much support which is putting a strain on your knees.

Good Luck!
  • grinch031
    grinch031 Posts: 1,679
    Options