What should my calorie intake be??

Options
Hi everyone, I'm a newbie here so please forgive me if this is something that has already been answered.

I am 5'3", weigh 120 and I'm not looking to lose much weight just tone up and maybe drop a pant size. I have a desk job so I am sitting most of the day, but after that I go to the gym and jog/run about 2 miles, do some weights every other day and 3 days a week I take a very high intensity cardio class (kickboxing, bootcamp, and a ploy type class: All of which involve using light weights). On the weekend I ride horses for about 3 hours and Sunday is my rest day. Before my desk job I have put on a few pounds considering I went from riding about 8 horses a day to sitting :cry:

My first question is: On this site, sedentary is considered having a desk job...but since I am going to the gym at least 4 days a week, and exercising at least 5 days...am I really sedentary?

My second question is: It says my caloric intake should be 1,200 calories a day. I am beginning to eat a lot healthier than before and with multiple food allergies, I have learned to start embracing more veggies! BUT simply eating 1/2 a gluten free bagel with 1 tablespoon of peanut butter and 1/2 a cup of non-fat greek yogurt for breakfast, with a soup and salad(greens etc), and an apple sauce and the remaining bagel half with peanut butter for lunch, leaves me with around 120 calories for dinner. I am STARVING after lunch and if I cut my sugar and fat out too much I become VERY VERY lightheaded and shaky.

Any tips?? Should I be upping my calories? I have been going over the 1,200 limit and eating around 1,300.

Thanks!!! :smile:

Replies

• psuLemon
    psuLemon Posts: 38,411 MFP Moderator
    Options
    Hi everyone, I'm a newbie here so please forgive me if this is something that has already been answered.