Eating Healthy on a Budget

Options
Its hard to eat healthy while keeping it on a budget! All of the healthy foods are more expensive and when you are tight on funds (all the time) this makes it hard. I'm open for any suggestions on affordable healthy food options!

Replies

• scinamon1
    scinamon1 Posts: 158 Member
    Options
    As a student, I basically live on fajitas! Just half a pepper, half an onion, a carrot, Half a teaspoon of oil for the pan, quorn chicken (or normal, but I'm veggie) and 6g of spice from the packet, and you're done! Throw it all into a pan. I don't bother with the wrap bits, but put 15ml of sour cream on, and it's really healthy- about 300 calories, 20-30 carbs, 10-20 fat... Very easy too! And yummy. Sometimes I eat it 4 or 5 nights running :)
  • Carolyn_79
    Carolyn_79 Posts: 935 Member
    Options
    Wish I had suggestions but my grocery bills are a lot higher since I started eating healthy. I do save money though by not ordering pizza etc...but I still don't think it really balances out.
  • Banrion
    Banrion Posts: 157 Member
    Options
    Try lots of vegetables, fresh vegetables can be expensive, but frozen vegetables are good to use. Simple meals of brown rice, vegetables and a lean meat will not break a budget most of the time.
  • KimKramer
    Options
    Same here!!! Looking forward to see how others are doing it............
  • micheles234
    micheles234 Posts: 73 Member
    Options
    if you have an Aldi's near you , their produce and everything is so much cheaper! they have a brand called fit and active too. they offer a lot of healthy stuff, and for a family of 4 I can usually walk out with a week's worth of groceries for around $80.
  • happilyeveractive
    happilyeveractive Posts: 167 Member
    Options