1200 long term?

Options
I am new to this again and although I lost 4 lbs in about 3 weeks I feel this may not be a caloric intake I can sustain long term. I am already noticing how I go over on many days despite best efforts. If you look at my diary please note today was a total fail day with BBQ at a friend's house.

I do aim to work out 4-5 times per week, if not in pain from strength 6-7 times with some days cardio only.

I am 5'6", currently at 135 and a sedentary job (desk). Days off are often spent doing house work and walking a lot at theme parks (the perk of living in Florida). I usually log an hour or two of walking if I spend all day out there.

It seems like 1200 is very low long term, I also read conflicting advice on the boards, as in establishing a more exact BMR...and when trying this I end up with info I should eat more around 1500??

Also, my biggest issue is belly fat, I have small hips but am huge around the belly button and don't even have had kids yet...bothering me a lot!!

Any advice? Oh and I know I'm weird, I do not like raw veggies or solid fruit. Love the taste, hate the texture! :((

Replies

• therealangd
    therealangd Posts: 1,861 Member
    Options
    My opinion is that you (because of your current BMI) shouldn't be working on a calorie deficit, you should be trying to build muscle. You should be eating at least your BMR in calories. And strength training. You should be working to reduce your body fat percentage. That's the only way you are going to lose the belly fat.

Good luck.

So yes, for you, 1200 calories is way too low.
  • chickybuns
    chickybuns Posts: 1,037 Member
    Options
    If you don't think you can maintain that, there's nothing wrong with that, I couldn't personally eat only 1200 a day. Maybe try setting your weight loss goal to 1/2 per week since it doesn't look like you have a lot to lose.
  • Felidae_1981
    Felidae_1981 Posts: 200 Member
    Options