Glucosamine for runners...

Options
Does anyone supplement with Glucosamine? I have been running for the past 4 years and really have noticed a lot of problems with my knees and hips recently. Some of my co-workers (also runners) recommend this supplement. I am wondering how much? Does it help? Is there something that I should take with it? I have read some articles in Runners World, but wanted some feedback from people who have tried it in the past.

Thanks so much! :smile:

Replies

• abbie017
    abbie017 Posts: 410
    Options
    From what I understand, glucosamine works to rebuild cartilige that may have been worn from constant pressure on your joints, in this case, from running. I've heard really good things about it. Personally, I'd check with a sports medicine doctor or physical therapist first to make sure there isn't an underlying cause to the joint pain, but I don't see any harm in using it.
  • Primalgal
    Primalgal Posts: 629 Member
    Options
    I take 2 Cosamin DS capsules a day. I am just a beginning runner, but it's been about 6 months and I don't have any knee problems and I'm about 50 lbs overweight!
    If you go to Amazon dot com you can read about Cosamin DS and see what other people have to say. I have it on auto ship so it comes every few months so I never run out.
    Good Luck!
  • Shizzman
    Shizzman Posts: 527 Member
    Options
    Glucosamine or Glucosamine Chondroitin can be useful for some folks. Back when I started running on my own (during college) I used to take some as I got towards longer runs. For me it helped most if I had been taking it in series (like starting before longer runs) than when I took it just day of or after a long run. If you are having joint problems I'd also suggest that you take a look at your running form, you are probably landing in a heel strike. It might also be worth it to check if you are wearing the right kind of running shoes.
  • PHYYOU
    PHYYOU Posts: 11 Member
    Options