Absolute newbie to strength training

Options
I need some advice on where to start.

I don't currently have access to a gym and for the next few months that isn't likely to change.

Basically all I have at the moment are a set of dumbbells, with some 0.5kg weights and 1.2kg weights. I can buy better equipment if need be. Thing is I don't know what I should be doing with the things, so any help would be welcome!

Replies

• Mrsairforce
    Options
    Bump for the OP
  • dollymixsix
    Options
    :)
  • carolemack
    carolemack Posts: 1,276 Member
    Options
    I haven`t started real strength training yet...but I figure since you are not getting any responses I would give you my 2 cents for what it is worth.

There is a book that I think is called ``New Rules of Lifting For Women`` that is supposed to be quite helpful. I plan on picking this up this week. You probably could even get it from the library. Also, if you google ``weighlifting for women`` you should find some helpful links.

Good luck.
  • dollymixsix
    Options
    Thank you, any help is appreciated! I'll check that out
  • taxidermist15
    taxidermist15 Posts: 677 Member
    Options
    lifting is all about lifting heavy...... you need heavier than 1.2kg.

If not going to a gym, id suggest an adjustable dumbell set, and a barbell... both not cheapies.....
  • maverick48
    maverick48 Posts: 69 Member
    Options
    squats, pushups, push presses, wood chops are good whole body exercises...plenty of videos available on youtube, but you will need a comprehensive program, and I do a 5x5 program, but that's more for building pure muscle.
  • EatClenTrenHard
    EatClenTrenHard Posts: 339 Member
    Options
    I need some advice on where to start.

I don't currently have access to a gym and for the next few months that isn't likely to change.