Any smokers out there?

Options
I have carried this nasty habit for probably 4 years now. I really want to quit and know that I need to, but I just don't know how to put them down. I am a full time student and mom of three (reasons why I should stop). I am afraid that if I put them down I will drive my husband crazy and/or gain weight. Any advice?

Replies

• LuckyLeprechaun
    LuckyLeprechaun Posts: 6,296 Member
    Options
    It sounds dismissive, but speaking from personal experience, just STOP buying them.

I was about halfway through a pack when I decided to quit. When that pack was gone, that was it. I refused to purchase any more. Period. That was six years ago, and aside from the first week of crankiness, sticking with quitting hasn't been as hard as I feared.
  • Cholbrook008
    Cholbrook008 Posts: 18 Member
    Options
    You might try the electronic cigarette. It has help me and my husband.
  • charlieduc
    Options
    I actually have tried the electric cigarette. It just was not the same...especially when my sister is sitting next to me smoking a real one!
  • cmriverside
    cmriverside Posts: 34,119 Member
    Options
    If that is a picture of your child ......that is all you need.

My mom was a smoker. I vowed to never smoke. But being raised in a house where it was not only practiced, but all the friends smoked, too - it was a foregone conclusion that I would start. Took me twenty years to quit.

Don't set this kind of example for your child. Or anyones' children.
  • eaheather
    eaheather Posts: 2 Member
    Options
    I quit with Chantix..it really worked for me except for the messed up dreams... it made cigarettes smell and taste awful!
  • ladyhawkgg
    Options