How Do I Prevent Shin Splints?

Options
Hey Everyone! I'm VERY new to the running world (I just started C25K) and was wondering how I can prevent shin splints. I thought maybe some of you on here might have some tips. :D

Replies

• crewellademel
    crewellademel Posts: 168 Member
    Options
    What worked for me was going to a good local running store. The person there spent a good 40 minutes. First she measured my feet and then watched me run barefoot both on a treadmill and on the running track in the store. Then she had me try on 5 or 6 different pairs of shoes. She had me squat and stand up and watched from front and back how the balls of my feet rolled in or out etc....She checked my old shoes for wear marks. She stated that good running shoes need to be longer in the toe than regular shoes. The shoes I ended up getting were only a little over $100 and they made running much more comfortable from multiple perspectives...impact seemed less on all joints especially ankles and knees and what I think were early shin splints went right away. She also said that really good running shoes shouldn't require any break in and these didn't. I put them on and away I went. Good Luck! C25K is Awesome! Do you know about the downloadable podcasts that you can put on your iPod that tells you went to start and stop running? They are really helpful! :flowerforyou:
  • jcnuebel
    Options
    I used to get shin splints too. I got a new pair of shoes and haven't had a problem since. Good luck!!
  • Beautiful_Ideal
    Beautiful_Ideal Posts: 69 Member
    Options
    Hey - I'm starting C25K today. (I've tried before, but I'm doing it this time.) However, I used to be a Cross Country runner, so this is what I've learned.

To prevent shin splints: