losing weight in the 50's age bracket

Options
Hello all,

I am new to MFP and have been doing this for about 2 weeks now. Well, i must say it is rough losing weight for myself at this age and i am wondering if others are in the same boat as myself. I am working out, eating my goal calories each day and yet when i weighed in, the scale will not budge. However, i have noticed that my clothes are fitting better,,what is the deal on this?

I need some advice.

thanks.

Replies

• Debrawn
    Options
    Hi lena. I just posted the same topic about half hour ago!!! had a bad disk and broken rib and took 5 rounds of steroids over a 4 mo period and gained 50 lbs...thought they would come off quick because I gained them quick but apparently they have adhered to me permanently. I have been under my cal everyday and still not much results! Keep me posted on your progress.
  • steve1126
    Options
    Hi, I'm in the same boat as well. It certainly went on much quicker than it comes off. I was actually on here before and fell off the wagon and put on another 20 lbs. Now, I've been diagnosed as diabetic (type 2) and I am thoroughly disgusted with myself! And I know it's my own fault. Hopefully, this time I'll be able to stick to it because it has become much more than just losing weight, it's now about trying to stay alive. I've already had a stroke 7 years ago, you would think that's enough of a wake up call? I wish I could find the key to total commitment to a healthy and active lifestyle. Any suggestions are more than welcome.
  • janetbythesea
    Options
    Hi Guys...

it took an awful long time to work it out but I think i finally got it right. I am 57 and just a couple of pounds off my target weight. Four stones in total. I am convinced that it ain't the number of calories which is the key but the amount of FAT in the calories....
    Message me if you think I can help.
  • suncat
    suncat Posts: 16 Member
    Options