Curious if others bother "completing" entres

Options
I'm new to MFP, and I'm really curious if people actually "complete" their daily diet entries.

Mine have all been confusing and discouraging. For example, last night I was 24 calories under and, just to see what would happen, I added a small bit of lentil soup (the dinner I'd planned to have before I realized I only had 24 calories left to target), and MFP indicated I'd miss my 5-week goal by 80%. (At 24 cal's under, I was still going to fall short by 50%, it read.) Ironically, the weight it said I'd be in 5 weeks, if I had eaten the lentil soup, was my weight this morning. So...

I finished today's diary 127 cal's over, and MFP says I'm on track to lose 3 lbs in 5 weeks. (My MFP goal is 2lbs/wk.) Yet, in reality, I've been averaging 2.5 lbs lost per week for about the past 8 weeks.

So, do most of you complete your diary entries and, if so, is it purely out of curiosity, or are yours more accurate?

Replies

• sleepytexan
    sleepytexan Posts: 3,138 Member
    Options
    I complete my diary most days. Usually if I don't it's because I was somewhere that I couldn't get service on my phone to do it.

However, the "you'll weigh x lbs. in 5 weeks" is silly. That's only assuming every single day was exactly the same. It says "if every day were like today". Every day will not be the same.

blessings.
  • Astrowife68
    Options