Ankle pain while running...

Options
I need help from seasoned runners. I am a beginner and just changed from running on the treadmill to running on the road. I could run 5k on treadmill with no problems. On the road I have intense ankle pain. What gives? I'm signed up for a 5k this weekend and I really want to run pain free!

Replies

• yluuuu
    yluuuu Posts: 21 Member
    Options
    I'm not sure, but could it be because you're not used to running outside? I know for me running on the treadmill and running outside feel pretty different.
  • xgg2rs
    xgg2rs Posts: 128 Member
    Options
    I'd guess your shoes. Have you gone to a running store to have them fit you for shoes? (In my area the shoes sell for about the same price I'd pay online for them) At the very least they should be able to tell you for free if you are using the proper shoes for your running pattern.

Also one tip I wished I had learned earlier in my running adventures, get some non cotton socks. (the synthetic or w/e) My feet were always getting torn up before I changed socks.

Sometimes my ankles used to hurt at the beginning of my runs but the pain would go away after the first mile or half mile or so. Maybe make sure you are streching properly as well.
  • j_courter
    j_courter Posts: 999 Member
    Options
    the treadmill is a bit cushioned so it absorbs some of the impact but your ankles are taking more of a beating on the actual road. it might also be time for new shoes. (not that i'd recommend that before the race) treadmill running is definitely different than running on the road and your body probably just needs time to acclimate to the additional pounding. the angle can be a bit different too. when you're running outside you have to pick your foot up a bit more. if you don't run with an incline of 1-2 you are probably also working different muscles outside than you've used indoors.