Bar Method? Does it work?

Options
I used to lift 3-4 times a week and do cardio and got into awesome shape. Then I came back from my honeymoon, got lazy, got injured and now need to get back into it. I started lifting again but I also have been doing the Bar Method DVD a few times a week. Im not seeing results yet and I am wondering if I am burning enough calories or if this is a waste of time?

I am 5'2" and about 109-111 pounds.

Replies

• hedgiie
    hedgiie Posts: 1,245 Member
    Options
    It's a new hype, it takes time to figure out if it works or not. but for sure the character they put into it does works. i say give it time and decide for yourself it it works or not. every person is different anyway....
  • jillybeanruns
    jillybeanruns Posts: 1,420 Member
    Options
    I've never tried the Bar Method DVDs, but I just started taking barre classes. First one kicked my *kitten*.

I've heard great things about the Bar Method. With that said, you are small and if you're fit, you're apt to burn less calories.
  • DBell28
    Options
    thanks guys. so Jillybeanruns - you think its a waste of time and I should just stick to weight intervals and cardio? Im limited with my cardio because I have a bum foot and cant run. I can walk and ride the bike....
  • jillybeanruns
    jillybeanruns Posts: 1,420 Member
    Options
    Oh no, don't put words in my mouth. A low burn doesn't mean you shouldn't do something, with body weight training and weight training, your HR will never get (and stay) very high. I'm just saying that you're not going to burn as much, but not that doesn't mean it's not worth doing at all. I'm being forced to step back from running and my physical therapist suggested I try barre to help with my overall strength, stretch and to help me get my low impact sweat on.
  • gnatseyelashes
    gnatseyelashes Posts: 16 Member
    Options