Breastfeeding and calorie counting

Options
I'm new to my fitness pal, I had my fourth child 6 months ago and the weight well its gone nowhere. I want to make sure that the calorie limits I was set are healthy for me while also nursing my daughter. Is there a setting for this or any recommendations?

Replies

• cutethang1
    cutethang1 Posts: 239 Member
    Options
    I am sorry I cant offer any advice. But wanted to say congrats!!! Hope you get some feedback soon. I have also posted about calories and exercise while pregant but not a lot of advice out here as not many who are preggers or just had babies. Try to sign up for fertility friend. All the forum out there have great advice for everything to do with pregnancy and having babies.

Good luck!
  • erickirb
    erickirb Posts: 12,293 Member
    Options
    search for breastfeeding in the food diary and it will -300-500 cals so you get to eat 300-500 more to account for breastfeeding.
  • Mama_CAEI
    Mama_CAEI Posts: 235
    Options
    search for breastfeeding in the food diary and it will -300-500 cals so you get to eat 300-500 more to account for breastfeeding.

^ What he said. :laugh: The one I used accounted for the extra calories you burn producing breastmilk as well as extra protein, carbs and fat in order to make sure you're producing good quality milk. :smile:
  • LilRedRooster
    LilRedRooster Posts: 1,421 Member
    Options
    You can always manually add 300-500 calories to the amount that they give you in the settings, depending on how much your baby is still nursing. For some reason, searching for "breastfeeding" never brought up anything for me, so I just manually added an amount.
  • TinkrBelz
    TinkrBelz Posts: 888 Member
    Options
    I breastfed all 6 of my kids. Roughly 14 months-2/5 years for each kid.

I was always nervous to cut calories back too much during the early months because I really wanted my milk to be well established. But, your baby is 6 months old.